Meatloaf and Mashed Potato Muffins

14

August 16, 2010 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


This is an amazing dish. While watching 24 Hour Restaurant Battle on the food network, one of the teams made these little meatloaf muffins topped with mashed potatoes. We decided they looked great. So when we were at the grocery store, we were trying to decide what to make for dinner, and T.J. suggested I make these…good idea babe 🙂

Since my meatloaf is one of the greatest dinners ever made, I thought this would be the perfect dish. So here is the recipe and some pictures. If you make these let me know how yours turn out 🙂

Ingredients

1 pound ground beef (either regular or lean is fine)

1 egg

12 saltine crackers

Garlic Salt

Onion Powder

BBQ Sauce (I used Famous Dave’s Sweet and Zesty)

One can tomato sauce (I used a small can of Hunt’s, it was perfect)

Mashed potatoes (I used instant, but you can make your own fresh)

You will also need a muffin pan and some PAM or grease spray

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place beef in a bowl, add the egg, seasoning, and crumbed crackers, mix and moosh all together like normal meatloaf. When I added the BBQ sauce, which I have never added to my meatloaf before, I just dumped some in, maybe about 1/2 a cup or so. As for the seasonings, I just added a dash here and there until I thought it was good.

Once thoroughly mixed together, spray muffin pans with the PAM. Separate the meat into little balls to fit in the individual muffin cups. Don’t press into cups, but do lightly flatten the tops a bit. Once all your meat is gone (I filled 8 muffin cups) top with tomato sauce using a spoon to dollup the sauce on each meat muffin. Bake in over for 30-40 minutes (mine only took 30 minutes).

Depending on if you make instant potatoes or real potatoes, you will begin making them depending on cooking time. Since I did instant, I began making them when I had about 10 minutes left of my meat muffins. Once the meat muffins are done, top them with mashed potatoes. I added some cheese to some of mine but you don’t have to. (Since I added cheese I baked them for a few more minutes to melt the cheese).

I used the extra mashed potatoes as a side and I made some peas to go along with it. It turned out very well and nice and tasty.

14 thoughts on “Meatloaf and Mashed Potato Muffins

  1. Kris says:

    I am SO making these tonight! Thanks Tina!

  2. Jill says:

    What a great idea! I am definitely going to make these this week. I’ve never been a fan of the traditional meatloaf shape, so these may be just the ticket Thanks for posting!

    • The Perfectly Imperfect One says:

      You’re welcome, let me know how yours turn out 🙂

      • Jill says:

        Since I didn’t use mashed potatoes, I was told I couldn’t say that I made ‘your’ meatloaf muffin recipe. So instead, I’ll say that I used a variation thereof. Anywho, they were a big hit with the whole family! I ended up making 10—they were mini-muffins I guess. I was surprised how flavorful they were. They will definitely be going into the two-week dinner rotation.

        • The Perfectly Imperfect One says:

          Lol well I will still accept that your family enjoyed them and I am very glad about that 🙂

  3. hillasnow says:

    Yummy I will have to try this. Ben is not a big meat loaf fan but the last time I made meat loaf it sucked big time.

  4. Emily says:

    They were delicious!! They were a winner with both my kids and my husband!! that’s not normal! Great recipe!!

  5. […] Meatloaf and Mashed Potato Muffins August 2010 13 comments […]

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other subscribers

Archives

Badges