Stockpiling and Couponing

Leave a comment

May 24, 2014 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Or For money saving, which is for survival too :)

Or For money saving, which is for survival too šŸ™‚

The purpose of the stockpile is not to prepare for the zombie apocalypse or anything, the purpose of the stockpile, for a couponer anyway, is to make sure to get the best price for an item. The stockpile works in a few ways, once you have a stockpile you can shop from it instead of going to the store and buying items at full price.

My stockpile started out small, I knew I wanted to start a stockpile because I wanted to save money and be able to save my coupons so I could stack them with the sales and get the items as close to free as possible.

On my first few stockpiling trips I had a bit of extra spending money and was able to get a great start to both my food and bathroom items stockpile. I went to Ream’s for the food items and I spent about $170 on food items that only included things we needed like spaghetti sauce, noodles, mac & cheese, soups, hamburger helper, minute rice and packaged flavored rice, etc, it also included some great deals on laundry detergent, deodorant, shampoo and conditioner and some body wash. With coupons and some amazing deals I saved $104. For being my first stockpile trip, using ONLY extra money we didn’t have set aside for something else, including food, and for being my very first coupon shopping trip, I think I did swimmingly! SavingĀ 38% and beginning my stockpile was a great thing for me.

Now, like I said, this was my first coupon trip and my first try at stockpiling I did OK, it is not perfect, it is not anywhere near an “extreme couponer”, (not that I will ever be one), and I have learned even more in just the few months of couponing and stockpiling that if I went back to do it all over again, I would save EVEN MORE than 38%, but for a first timer watching that total drop so much and seeing the end result of an entire shelf full of stockpile items I wouldn’t need to buy for close to A YEAR, I think it was pretty awesome. (I say close to a year because I got a lot of deodorant and other bath products at such an amazing deal at the time that while I will continue to replenish these items I won’t use the last one of the first purchased for close to a year).

Before stockpiling, our pantry had some food in it like pasta and spaghetti sauce, I grew up with always having a large amount of vegetables and spaghetti sauce in the pantry as well as hamburger helper, but I never really thought of it as stockpiling, I just thought of it as having food in the house, so being married, I always made sure to have a couple things on hand all the time.

Now, I am a couponing princess (not a queen yet lol) and a stockpiling princess, because the two really do go hand in hand if you really want to save money, I have a lot of food items in my pantry and a lot of bathroom products stocked up in each bathroom. The purpose of separating the two out is that I wanted to make sure that when my bottle of shampoo or conditioner was out I wouldn’t have to run from the upstairs master bathroom naked or nearly so, to the downstairs pantry, passed two windows with always open curtains, to get what I needed, because let’s be honest here, you are almost always naked when you need a new bottle of shampoo in the shower, am I right? Also, I put my husbands bathroom stuff in our master bathroom and my nieces stuff in her bathroom. This has helped me have more room for my food stockpile to grow.

I do not have a before picture of how our pantry was, but it is a very large pantry that we bought some really awesome shelves for from Costco after we got married. We have 5 sets of shelves and there are 5 shelves on each set. We had food on about 1.5 sets of theĀ shelves, and now we have food on about 3 sets. We also have one full set of cleaning supplies and toilet paper and paper towels, and another set that doesn’t have all the shelves on it but houses our pots and pans.

In a few weeks, I will be doing a reorganization on our pantry and it will look super beautiful and then, you will see our stockpile šŸ™‚

So for now, I have begun our bathroom product stockpile and our food stockpile is coming along nicely, both portions of our stockpile is doing well, so now I will begin stockpiling things like allergy pills and cold medicineĀ (when they go on sale) and since camping season is in full swing in a few weeks I will begin some first aid type items like band aids and neosporin, as well as paper plates and plastic utensils. I would also like to get a better stockpile on dish soap.

The only things I don’t plan on stockpiling are pet food because it can go bad before the animals can get through the second bag or so and I don’t want it to go bad, I also buy toilet paper and paper towels from Costco and a really good price and good quality and don’t plan on changing that any time soon, so while I will always have enough on hand, I don’t plan on filling a closet full or anything and since the price is always about the same, I don’t need to think about that all that often.

**How is your stockpile? What do you stock up on? Is there anything I should think about stockpiling? Show me some pictures of how you have yours organized (I love ideas)!!

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 400 other followers

Archives

Badges