Freezer Meals: Beef Stew

4

September 28, 2013 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Freezer Meal: Beef Stew

Freezer Meal: Beef Stew

Beef Stew

Makes 2 meals Serves 6

2 pounds cubed beef

1 onion-chopped

1 small bag of baby carrots

2 celery stalks-chopped

2 red bell peppers-chopped

2 teaspoons salt

½ teaspoon pepper

2 teaspoons minced garlic

1 (14 oz) can of canned tomatoes

1 can tomato sauce

(on cooking day: 2 potatoes cubed)

Directions

Place in gallon sized freezer bag

Cooking

Thaw bag overnight or under warm water enough to release from bag. Add contents to slow cooker, cook on low for 6 hours. Stirring occasionally. Add peeled, cubed potatoes the last 3 hours or so.

Serve with warm corn bread or sliced bread and since you already have veggies in the stew, you won’t need a side of veggies.

Can be frozen for 4-6 months

2013 Freezer Meals Beef Stew (4)Cooks Notes: I split this recipe into two meals. This worked out really well for the three of us. Hubby had two servings, kiddo and I each had one serving and we had some left over for hubby to have a lunch tomorrow. We served this with Pillsbury Biscuits. I did find that it needed a bit more liquid, so I added some more water while this was in the cooker. Hubby started the crock pot on low at about 11:30 am. I added the potatoes (I went with four small potatoes) about 3:00 pm. We ate dinner about 6:00 pm and the potatoes were perfectly cooked. Next time I make this dish (the other half of this recipe) I will be adding a beef gravy mix of some kind to thicken it up a bit. While this dish was delicious, adding a bit more water after I got home from work made the flavor a bit watered down, also another reason to add a bit of gravy, to add to the flavor and thicken the sauce to be more beef stew like than beef soup like. Another great first for me as a cook. I had never made homemade beef stew before, let alone a freezer meal beef stew. 

Check out my post on freezer meals

4 thoughts on “Freezer Meals: Beef Stew

  1. LFFL says:

    I’ll be making more of these as the weather turns colder.

  2. […] Beef Stew-doubled recipe split into 4 bags […]

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other subscribers

Archives

Badges