Freezer Meal: Chicken Fajitas

1

September 27, 2013 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Chicken Fajitas

Chicken Fajitas

Chicken Fajitas

(This recipe makes 3 separate meals that serve 3 people)

9 chicken breasts

6 (8 oz) cans diced tomatoes with green chiles

1 onion-sliced

3 green bell peppers-sliced

3 red peppers-sliced

3 teaspoons garlic powder

3 teaspoons cumin

3 teaspoons chili powder

(Tortillas for day of cooking)

Directions

Split equally between the gallon sized freezer bags, seal and mix thoroughly

Cooking

Pull bag out in the morning. Cook in slow cooker on high 3-4 hours or Cook on stove top until chicken is thoroughly cooked through. Remove from stove, remove chicken from pan and slice into strips.

Serve on warmed tortillas, with sour cream, guacamole, cheese, and/or other ingredients you like with your fajitas.

Can be frozen for 4 months

**this can also be made with steak, you may only need 2 steaks per bag to serve 3 people per meal**

Fajitas

Fajitas

Cooks Notes: I made this in the slow cooker. I do not recommend cooking it in the slow cooker. I have read many different recipes for slow cooker chicken fajitas and I do not think I will ever make this in the slow cooker again. My recommendation is to thaw this enough to cook on the stove top, or even to pull the chicken from the rest of the ingredients and grill the chicken. I still have two more servings of this recipe, so next time I will try this on the stove, and for the last bag I will have hubby slap it on the grill. We paired this with some re fried beans, and Spanish rice. Hubby had never had fajitas before since he doesn’t like assembling his own food when we go out and this was the first time I had ever made fajitas before, and hubby really enjoyed it. My niece loves fajitas and she really enjoyed this meal as well.

Check out my post on freezer meals

One thought on “Freezer Meal: Chicken Fajitas

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other subscribers

Archives

Badges