Hidden Litter Box AND Laundry Folding Table

Leave a comment

May 6, 2013 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Last year, we remodeled out laundry room from drab to a very happy room. But we had one problem left to solve, well actually two, but we finally finished the most smelly issue we had with out laundry room. We successfully hid the litter box, and I got an awesome folding table to fold laundry on. And now, without the smell of the litter box, I don’t have to hurry and grab the laundry and run. Which will help us to enjoy the remodeled laundry room for what we intended it for.

For MONTHS, actually over a year now, I have been having an image in my brain about exactly how I wanted to hide the litter box. I wanted to hide it visibly and hide the odor. I also wanted a place to fold laundry, especially since we have 2 dogs (who like the litter box a little too much) and 2 cats who can’t always make the litter box, and there is fur everywhere! Folding laundry on a nice clean laundry table would make our clothes stay clean.

I knew I wanted a cupboard of sorts with a counter top to fold laundry on. But, I had a problem finding the right solution as well as finding it within our budget. So, for months I have been looking at IKEA Hacker, Pinterest, and Google for images of how others have solved the litter box issues. Some of them were really cool, while others were pretty bad in my personal opinion. Some of them were just a piece of furniture with a cat door, others were intricate and forever built into a home, like under a staircase. Now, we don’t have the option of hiding the litter box under the stairs.

A few weeks ago my niece said something that resonated with me more than I thought it would. She said “When you’re hungry, you open the fridge look around, move on to the pantry look around, lower your standards and start again”. I thought, “yeah! That totally is how it is” then I started my quest for even more images of the litter box solution and thought “Oh my god, what she said fits too” because I lowered my standards when it came to this litter box thing. I had decided to forego my dream of a laundry folding table, and to just simply hide the litter box from view and smell.

I even started to look at the classifieds for free cabinets, or for sale cabinets to try to find what I wanted for a lot cheaper than what my plan seemed to cost. And then, I decided to actually GO to IKEA and see what they have that we could make into at least a litter box hider. Now, the option we went with is not cheap. It is fairly easy though, and as it turns out EXACTLY what I had pictured in my head!

I also learned from another kitty litter hider hacker who lined her hider with plastic in order to make it easier to clean if someone should happen to “miss”. I would love to say where I learned that idea, but I have looked at so many that I just don’t remember. So if that person should happen to see this post, please let me know so I can give proper credit. The problem I did see with lining the box with plastic is that the person used a staple gun to fix the plastic to the walls and bottom. I decided that I did not want to use a staple gun, especially since if I needed to replace the plastic completely I would have to put more staple holes in the wood and that would just hinder the structure and weaken it.

My solution; Velcro on a shower curtain liner. I stuck the soft part of the Velcro in multiple place around the inside of the cabinet and then stuck the rougher pieces to the soft pieces and then lined the inside with the shower curtain. The sticky part on the Velcro stuck fairly well to the shower curtain and it gives the cabinet a nice barrier for smell and for messes. It makes it easier to sweep and to wash out if needed. Also, the plan is that if needed, I can remove the shower curtain hose it off, and put it back, and if it is damaged just get another one and some more Velcro. Easy Peasy!

We still have to cut the kitty door and place the kitty door we bought on the cabinet door/entrance, but we wanted the cats to not be afraid and to know where the litter box is, so we will leave the cabinet door off for about a week and then we will make the hole and attach the kitty door. We will leave the plastic flap off for about another week (like we did when we put a kitty door into the laundry room after we got our first dog) just so they can get used to using the door. Once we attach the flap, the odor should be almost non existent!

We went to Ikea and spoke with a really nice guy in the cabinet section who was super helpful and helped us design a customish cabinet (kind of custom because we went with NO shelves, No drawers, pretty much just the shell of the cabinet, and to them that is custom). We purchased a 24 inch cabinet and a 36 inch cabinet. The 36 inch has two doors, the 24 has one door. We purchased the basic legs for the cabinet (basic if you don’t want a kick plate and don’t mind seeing the legs, I chose this so we can clean under the cabinet easier) We chose the basic doors, and the one step up from basic white counter top. (The one step up counter top has a nice silver trim around the edge, which ties in with the handles we chose, the legs, and matches the light fixture already in the laundry room, so that was a nice touch).

My husband put the cabinets together in our front room, the second cabinet took a lot less time because it went together in the exact same way as the first so there was no reading directions again and trying to figure out what those damn little men IKEA puts in their instructions is trying to show you LOL. We then moved the cabinets into the laundry room where my husband attached them together so they are now one cabinet and drew a square for the kitty door and cut it out. We then attached the kitty door, minus the flap, between the two cabinets. We went with a medium sized kitty door for between the two cabinets so as to give kitties a bit more room and so they won’t be scared to use it, especially since they are going from a fully open litter box to a fully enclosed one.

Then I attached the Velcro and Shower curtain, while my husband trimmed the rugs, to catch the litter, down to size. Then we place the new smaller litter box inside its new home, place the new counter on top (secured it) and took pictures (after clean up of course lol). *I will be updating with a picture of the cabinet once the last door is cut and kittyified and put back on the cabinet*

And now, for the pictures of the project. (You can also visit my laundry room refresh post from last year for the details and colors of the room…check it out HERE)

Before (when we first moved in)

Before (when we first moved in)

Before new Litter Box hider/Laundry folding table

Before new Litter Box hider/Laundry folding table

DSC_0155 DSC_0156 DSC_0157 DSC_0158 DSC_0160 DSC_0161 DSC_0163 DSC_0164 DSC_0166 DSC_0167 DSC_0169 DSC_0170 DSC_0171 DSC_0172 DSC_0173 DSC_0174 DSC_0175 DSC_0176 DSC_0177 DSC_0179 DSC_0180 DSC_0181 DSC_0182 DSC_0184 DSC_0185 DSC_0186 DSC_0188 DSC_0189 DSC_0190 IMG924 IMG925 IMG928

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 400 other followers

Archives

Badges