Daily Post Challenge: Oh That Little Thing?

1

September 5, 2012 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Family Heirloom

Well it certainly isn’t nothing. That right there is my family heirloom. It once belonged to my grandfather’s grandmother. When I was 9 years old, my grandfather sent it to me for Christmas. That was in 1991. My mom took it, and put it in her jewelry box for safe keeping along with a necklace charm with my name in Hieroglyphics, which my grandfather got for my in Egypt the year after I was born.

For my sixteenth birthday, my mom wrapped them both up and gave them to me again. Almost 10 months later, my grandfather passed away.

In October of 2000, I broke this family heirloom while putting a baby shower gift for my sister in the back of my car. The band snapped in half, two opals and one pearl popped out of the setting. The box I was putting into my car was heavy and smashed my finger in between the car and the box, which is how the ring broke.

I placed the two opals and one pearl that had fallen out along with the rest of the ring, into a sandwich bag and it sat in my jewelry box for almost 11 years. Two weeks before I got married last year, I knew I wanted to wear that ring as my “something old” at my wedding, but I had to get it fixed first.

The problem with getting this ring fixed was that I couldn’t just pop the jewels back into the setting, and fix the band. Opals are a very precious stone and extreme heat will make the explode (basically). This is why I waited so long to get it fixed.

I took it into Jared’s, and for about $200 they fixed it and cleaned it and I had back just in time to say “I Do”. Even 12 years after my grandfather’s passing, he was there with me on my wedding day, in more ways than one!

These are two of my most prized possessions.

If you would like to join in the weekly writing challenge, please visit http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/weekly-writing-challenge-a-few-of-my-favorite-things/

One thought on “Daily Post Challenge: Oh That Little Thing?

  1. […] Oh That Little Thing? « I am Perfectly Imperfect […]

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

Archives

Badges