Beaglopolis and Pitlantis

2

August 30, 2012 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


If you were to ask me how we ended up getting another dog, I would have to say it all started with reading a freshly pressed blog post by Aleks at http://loveandaleash.com/. Her post about their beloved Snickerdoodle was freshly pressed and I began reading every single post she ever wrote, from the very beginning. It took WEEKS! But I fell in love with her blog, her training tips, and the fact that she fostered Pit Bull type dogs.

When I first found Love and a Six Foot Leash, we had our Teyla girl for three months, (you can read her story at our Teyla Blog over at http://meetteyla.wordpress.com/). We went out and purchased a KONG and began showing our beagle how to work for her food. We bought a KONG Wobbler too. I also found this awesome ball on Amazon that also made her work for her food. Her blog also lead me to the KONG website and we purchased the KONG bone, which she loved to chew on, which was wonderful because she was a very big chewer. I mean HUGE! We went through many Nylabones before finding the Nylaring (HIGHLY recommend). She decided her bed needed holes, her blanket, my blanket, all her babies needed to be de-stuffed, and yes, even our couch!

A couple of months after finding Love and a Six Foot Leash, I started finding other Pit Bull foster blogs, and kind of liked the idea of having another dog. I grew up with dogs my whole life. I learned that I had never actually trained any of my dogs to do anything but use a doggy door. (When I was a kid, we used to “kennel” our dogs in the bathroom, and later in the kitchen with baby gates).

Eventually, I started suggesting to my husband that “we should totally foster!” We could help dogs, and maybe even have two dogs for a while, it would be totally awesome. Plus, for every dog that is fostered, a person is helping two dogs; one being fostered, and one in the shelter who now has room to stay for a bit longer. I started reading some of the blog posts to my husband, informing him about some of the issues people have with Pit Bulls and how those problems are completely untrue and unfair.

I showed him every adorable picture Aleks took, as well as all the cutie patootie pictures from other blogs like http://www.ourwaldobungie.com/, another foster blogger. I found http://aheartbeatatmyfeet.wordpress.com/, I found Handsome Dan on Facebook, (Handsome Dan is a rescue group for Pit Bull type dogs. After a while, my Facebook news feed was filled with Pit Bull advocacy groups, photos of dogs, and other dog items. There were more posts by, for, and about dogs, than from my friends, still are :). I learned about the ad by McDonald’s bad mouthing Pit Bulls (sorry don’t have the link). And just recently, I learned about PETA’s stand on Pit Bull type dogs, please read about it here, http://stubbydog.org/2012/08/a-letter-to-peta/.  I told my husband about all of this. My bookmarks list is full of blogs about dogs, Pit Bulls, training, beds, and toys.

Because of these blogs and Facebook pages, I learned that Pit Bulls were once known as the nanny dog, I learned they do not in fact have locking jaws (which seems completely absurd as I type it), I learned that the breed is banned in many areas, including a few cities in my very own state.  I learned that there are many different types of Pit Bulls, such as the Staffordshire Bull Terrier, The American Staffordshire Terrier, and the American Pit Bull Terrier. I learned that Pit Bull type dogs are often prone to allergies; food allergies, skin allergies, and normal airborne allergies. I even learned how to stuff a KONG and freeze it for a nice hot summer day snack.

Please come back later for Part 2, and meet this guy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Beaglopolis and Pitlantis

  1. I’m so excited to hear about who that dog is – he/she is cuuuuuuute!

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 400 other followers

Archives

Badges