One For The Money

Leave a comment

February 3, 2012 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Last night I did something I have never done in my entire life…I went to a movie by myself!

Image from evanovich.com

The movie; One For The Money a book written by Janet Evanovich turned movie; staring Katherine Heigl as Stephanie Plum, Jason O’Mara as Joe Morelli.

Janet Evanovich has written 18 books about Stephanie Plum, the former lingerie buyer (sales rep), newly unemployed turned skip tracer (aka bounty hunter). I have read the first 17 books so far and I love them. There’s crime, romance, and comedy. They are truly great books.

The movie was hilarious! Of course, the book was way better, which is always the case when books turn into movies, and I really hope they make at least one more movie, because that would be totally awesome.

The movie is rated PG-13 for violence, some nudity, sexual references, and some drug material. The one thing about the book and movie that is sad is the violence against women that is portrayed, while it helps with the story line, it can be upsetting for some. I really liked how they portrayed a specific violent act against one woman in the morning. It was a bit more graphic in the book, and probably wouldn’t have been good for the movie.

The story line of the movie closely followed the story line of the book, which is something I always worry about when watching a movie after reading the book.

When I first heard that Katherine Heigl was staring as Stephanie Plum, I was a bit upset, most people think Sandra Bullock should have been Stephanie, but I always thought of Amanda Peet for Stephanie, she would have been perfect. I also, always thought of Mel Gibson for Morelli, and the guy they got for this part looks and sounds like Mel, so it works for me.

I like who they got for the rest of the characters, and I LOVED that John Leguizamo was in it. He is so awesome! Jimmy Alfa, yeah ok, he works for it.

Overall, I plan on buying this movie when it comes out on DVD and BlueRay, because it was really good. I hate the idea if Heigl as Steph, but she did a really good job. Yes, she could have done the Jersey accent more often, because it was intermitten, but all the characters worked pretty well together, and I really enjoyed the movie.

*side note, wish they could have made it a little bit longer to flush out the characters a little bit more, but hopefully they will make a second one or turn it into a t.v. series*

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

Archives

Badges