Lasagna

2

January 10, 2012 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


I got this recipe from the back of the American Beauty Oven Ready Lasagna box.

But, I screwed up according to the box, but according to their online recipe for the same lasagna I didn’t, so here it goes, I am posting it the way I made it, and my husband will have to tell you it is is good or not 🙂

Ingredients;

3 cups spaghetti sauce (I used a can of extra veggie by Hunts)

1 cup tomato sauce (makes the sauce more saucy lol)

15 oz container of ricotta cheese

1 egg (beaten slightly, I personally just verbally abused the egg, and mixed it up after I put it in the ricotta cheese)

1/2 teaspoon dried basil leaves

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano leaves

12 pieces American Beauty oven ready lasagna noodles UNCOOKED

4 cups shredded mozzarella cheese*

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese*

* I read somewhere that you shouldn’t use the preshredded cheeses because they have extra stuff in them which hinders the melting process, I am sure this is true, but I am a very lazy cooker and have you ever tried to shred mozzarealla or grate parmesan cheese yourself? IT IS HELL! So go ahead buy the already shredded stuff, it tastes the same, who cares how it melts!

Directions;

If you choose to add meat to your sauce, you should brown it first, or cook the sausage or whatever and then mix with your sauce. I went with a veggie lasagna tonight, so I am moving onto the next step.

Heat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, (I made mine at about 2PM so I haven’t preheated my oven yet because I am waiting for the hubby to come home before actually cooking dinner).

In a small bowl (this is according to the box, but it is BS, grab a large bowl, I mean how else are you supposed to mix all that stuff together), so in a large bowl mix ricotta cheese, egg, basil, and oregano leaves. (Here is where I messed up, because I also added the mozzarella and parmesan to this mixture as well, but apparently that is ok).

So, mix it all up, when your sauce is ready, spoon 3/4 cup on the bottom of the pan smoosh it around (I went with the 1/4 cup and scooped it 3 times, and you will understand why I am mentioning that later).

Assembled, uncooked lasagna

In a glass 9X13 inch pan, take three noodles and lay the crosswise in the bottom of the pan, making sure they do not touch the sides of the pan or over lap because these noodles are made to expand while baking. Now, take the cheese mixture and spoon 3/4 over noodles (once again use the 1/4 cup, which made it easier because I put 1/4 cup on top of each noodle) and smoosh it around. Take 3/4 cup of sauce and spread over cheese mixture. Then lay down three more noodles, repeat cheese mixture and sauce, then noodle, cheese, sauce again. When all 12 noodles are in the pan, top off with the cheese mixture that remains and any sauce left (I had no sauce left) (apparently it is supposed to just be mozzarella, but since I screwed up, the cheese mix is on top! HA!).

Bake covered with foil for 30 minutes, remove foil, bake uncovered for 10 to 15 minutes or until melty and bubbly and gooey yumminess. Remove from oven, let stand 5 minutes or cool enough to cut and not fall apart all over the place (good luck with that LOL).

Enjoy!

(p.s., after I saw the pictures I took of my uncooked lasagna, I decided to add more sauce to the top of my lasagna, and it looks much better)

 

*Edited to add pics*

2 thoughts on “Lasagna

  1. This looks delicious, thank you for sharing. Hugs! Katherine

  2. It turned out very yummy, although some of the noodles around the edge didn’t cook that well, so make sure to get the noodles all sauced so they will cook all the way.

    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

Archives

Badges