Neither Snow, nor Rain, nor Heat, nor Gloom of Night…

Leave a comment

December 16, 2011 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Neither snow, nor rain, nor heat, nor gloom of night…

I work in a 24 facility, I work nights, weekends, and holidays. The planes, the trains, the buses, and the trucks never stop moving. Someone is always working, for you!

I am a government employee, without all the benefits. I worry about my job being there the next day, week, month, and year. It is not my fault that prices increase.

I learn about my own job the same way you do, through the media. I learn about increased prices the same way you do. I send packages the same way you do. I mail a letter the same way you do. There are no employee discounts for me, there are no secrets in how it’s done, I don’t know much more than you on how to do it.

No, I don’t know “so and so”, there are thousands of people who work for my company. Thousands of people who work for billions. Thousands of people who miss out on family and friend events and obligations to serve you. Thousands of people who take their job seriously, and worry every day that email will take over.

That Christmas card you just got in the mail box, someone put that there, many strangers helped put that smile on your face. Those wedding invitations you just sent out, many strangers will make sure your day is special.

Neither snow, nor rain, nor heat, nor gloom of night, stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds. If you know this saying, you know; I am a postal employee. Thank your mail carrier today!!

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 400 other followers

Archives

Badges