Chicken and Broccoli Braid-Pampered Chef

Leave a comment

June 18, 2011 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Since I had a pampered chef party this weekend, and I LOVE their chicken and broccoli braid, I thought I would repost my version, along with the original recipe, and a vegetarian version I came up with. ENJOY!
I love this recipe, it is one of my favorites, but I use the official recipe as more of a guideline. This smells so AWESOME while it is baking. I use a stoneware cooking stone when I make this, but my friend Deb has made it using a round cookie sheet before, and it is still tasty. I made this for my boyfriends moms birthday this weekend and his parents LOVED it!! I have also added a vegetarian version, because his sister would like to try it and she doesn’t eat meat. If you read this and decide to make it, let me know how you do, and hey post some pics of your fun, and if you substitute  ingredients, be sure to let me know how it turned out. Eat and Enjoy!
Official Recipe:

Chicken & Broccoli Ring
Adapted from The Pampered Chef Stoneware Inspirations

1 package (8 ounces) refrigerated crescent rolls
1 cup cooked chicken
3/4 cup coarsely chopped broccoli
1/2 cup (2 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
2 tbsp mayonnaise
1 tsp Dried Dill
1 small garlic clove, pressed
1/8 tsp salt
1 egg white, lightly beaten
2 tbsp slivered almonds

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Unroll crescent rolls; separate into 8 triangles.  Arrange triangles, slightly overlapping, in a circle on a PC Small Round Baking Stone with wide ends 3 inches from edge of baking stone (points will extend off the edge of the baking stone).  Roll (or use fingers to press) wide ends of dough toward center to create a 3-inch opening.  This part sounds kinda tricky the first time you do it, but it’s not so bad.
2. In a medium bowl, combine chicken, broccoli, cheese, bell pepper, mayo, seasoning mix, garlic, salt, and pepper and mix well.
3. Using a ice cream scoop, scoop filling evenly over dough in a continuous circle. Make sure filling is evenly spaced/spread.  Bring points of triangles up over filling and tuck under dough at center to form a ring.  (filling will show)  Lightly brush dough with egg white; sprinkle with almonds.  Bake 25-30 minutes or until deep golden brown.

MY Version:

2 packages (8 ounces) refrigerated crescent rolls

2-3 cups cooked chicken

1-2 cups coarsely chopped broccoli

1- 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

I start with 1 tsp of dried dill weed, and then sometimes, depending on how big the mixture is, I add a sprinkle or two more and remix.

no red pepper

I start with 3-4 tbsp mayo and then add more to ensure the ingredients stick together

2 small garlic cloves, pressed

1/8 tsp salt

1 egg white

I usually don’t use the almonds, but you can 🙂

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Unroll crescent rolls; separate into 8 triangles.  Arrange triangles, slightly overlapping, in a circle on a PC Small Round Baking Stone with wide ends 3 inches from edge of baking stone (points will extend off the edge of the baking stone).  Roll (or use fingers to press) wide ends of dough toward center to create a 3-inch opening.  This part sounds kinda tricky the first time you do it, but it’s not so bad.
2. In a medium bowl, combine chicken, broccoli, cheese, bell pepper, mayo, seasoning mix, garlic, salt, and pepper and mix well.
3. Using a ice cream scoop, scoop filling evenly over dough in a continuous circle. Make sure filling is evenly spaced/spread.  Bring points of triangles up over filling and tuck under dough at center to form a ring.  (my filling doesn’t usually show since I use 2 packages of crescent rolls)  Lightly brush dough with egg white; sprinkle with almonds.  Bake 25-30 minutes or until deep golden brown.

Vegetarian Recipe: ( I have not tried this)

substitute the chicken with rice

1 cup rice instead of 2 cups chicken.

All other ingredients are the same.

You can also add other veggies for more substantial filling. Some suggestions I would use would be slivered carrots, peas, celery, and maybe some cauliflower.

   

Want to order something from pampered chef? Go to this website http://www.pamperedchef.biz/nicolefairall?page=home to place an order online. If you purchase before JUNE27, 2011 PLEASE put my name as the host so I get credit 🙂 Thank you so much!

 

 

«

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

Archives

Badges