Think I can be a book editor?

4

January 5, 2011 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


After listening to over 600 books while working at the PO the last 6 years or so, I have come to realize that the authors, while are damn good at writing, don’t have good editors. To be perfectly honest, they need me to proofread their books for them.

I have come to the conclusion that sometimes authors get confused while writing. For example, while listening to a book the other day while I was at work I heard the wrong name being said. It was supposed to be a woman talking and in the sentence it said a man’s name instead of the woman’s name. While this is an honest mistake, it was a bit confusing.

Come Read with Me

Now, this only happens in about 1 out of 10 books I read or listen to, but it happens and it shouldn’t! While listening to books is the way I read books for the most part. I think that authors should pay me to sit in on the readings because some of the readers have some problems saying the names, and saying some of the words the correct way.

Here a couple examples of how words should be pronounced;

FORTE=fortay NOT FORT There is an E on the end, so what does that tell you? Tells me it’s not a bunch of chairs covered in blankets set up in a living room with kids hiding inside.

In one series I listened to this week was the Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella. The first book I listened to this week was Shopaholic and Sister, and in this book the reader pronounced the friend’s name Suze (SOOZ) and then I listened to the next book and it was read by a different reader and the other ready pronounced the name as Suzy (Soozee). First of all, I think that all books in a series need to be read by the same person and the names should be pronounced the same way in every book by every reader. Maybe the author should have a little cheat sheet in the book so the reader can know how to pronounce the names as the author intended…just a thought lol

Ok, I think that’s it for today, but I’ll let you know if I think of anything else.

But, you tell me, what books have you found errors in that probably should have been caught, at least by the editor.

Your Favorite Bitchy Book Critic,

The Perfectly Imperfect One

4 thoughts on “Think I can be a book editor?

  1. I find names of characters mispelled. Drives me crazy. Isn’t that what all of those editors are getting paid to do – pay attention to the work?

  2. […] Most Popular: Think I Can Be A Book Editor? Posted on January 5, […]

  3. orples says:

    On my last book, “The Orples Make A Tree Home”, I got so lucky when it came to an editor. The woman was great. My punctuation sucks, so I wouldn’t dream of publishing without a professional fixing my fudgies. The editor I got, did a great job catching my errors and then rewording one or two sentences for me that really made the paragraphs flow. If editing is your niche, then I say go for it.

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 400 other followers

Archives

Badges