Crazy Drunk Lady or Spiders in her Car?

2

October 9, 2010 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


So yesterday I posted about spiders and the differences between their webs. Today I thought I would share a funny story about me and my fear of spiders. It includes the police, so should enjoy this story a bit 🙂

A few years ago, my friend was getting married, and I threw her bridal shower and bachelorette party. We had gone out to a bar and then I took her back to where her husband was so she could spend the night with him. Since I had nothing to drink, I was the driver and after I dropped her off, I was headed home. I was driving down the freeway, it was late at night, about 3 AM or so, and there were little to no vehicles on the freeway.

At one point, there three highway patrol officer vehicles driving down the road near me. One was in front of me, one was next to me and another was in the lane behind me. Since I am good driver, and I was not intoxicated I had no worries, plus I have good cop karma. When all of a sudden I saw a little white spider (basically harmless) crawling on my dashboard, heading RIGHT towards me! AND!! Another one on the windshield, again CRAWLING RIGHT TOWARD ME! So, what do I do, of course I do what any normal female scared of spiders would do, I freaked the HELL out! Which in turn lead me to screaming and swerving in my lane, with cops all around me.

I pulled the vehicle over, not sure if this was because I knew I needed to get out the vehicle or because the police had turned on their lights to pull me over, not sure because I don’t know when they turned their lights on. Anyway, I pulled off to the side of the road and leaped out of my car. Now, I was in a panic because there were spiders.in.my.car! So am flalling my arms about and jumping up and down, much in the way a woman would when she walks through a spiders web, all while screaming EW EW EW.

One officer got out of his vehicle, and with hand on weapon and the other hand outstretched in a stopping motion, informed me I needed to get back in my vehicle “Ma’am, Ma’am, you need to get back inside your vehicle, NOW!” I, not so calmly informed him that “No, I can’t, there are spiders IN.MY.CAR”. The officer calmly walked towards me and my vehicle and peered inside, he asked me where they were and I told him. Once again, calmly he smacked the spiders dead, then turned to me and said, hand still on weapon, “have you been drinking this evening?” to which I replied, “No Sir, I have not” relieved to be rid of those spiders in my car. The officer then said “can you please walk this white line for me?” To which I did. Needless to say, I was not cited for anything, because I didn’t violate any traffic laws, beside a bit of swerving in my own lane, because of course I used my blinker to pull of to the side of the road, and the officer let me go home, with a huge grin on his face and a chuckle in his voice he told me to “have a nice night Ma’am”

2 thoughts on “Crazy Drunk Lady or Spiders in her Car?

  1. hillasnow says:

    Only you!!! I think you should be a spider for halloween!

  2. The Perfectly Imperfect One says:

    NO WAY! Spiders are not CUTE! Why on Earth would I want to be one for Halloween lol

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

Archives

Badges