What a Weekend!

4

September 13, 2010 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


 

A Happy moment in all the sadness of the day

 

This weekend was crazy busy and filled will sadness, tears, memories, and laughter. Friday night we celebrated our friend D’s birthday, as well as our friend Trent’s birthday. We were supposed to go to Wendover for Trent’s birthday, but on Wednesday my boyfriend’s grandfather died so we spent all day Saturday in memory of his life. The services were beautiful. The man was a WWII and Korean war vet. He lived such a long life and he lived with honor. His casket had the US Army emblem on all four corners, and 13 VFW members helped us give him and amazing and tearful send off. Taps really kicks your ass when they play it for a vet’s funeral. After the funeral services we had a luncheon reception with some kick ass chicken salad sandwiches (for which I will be searching the internet for the perfect recipe) and some amazing pictures of the family and the life for which we were there to remember.

The death of a loved one is always difficult. And the death of a loved one’s loved one is not all that easy either. I only met T.J.’s grandfather a few times, but he was a funny man who lived a long and amazing life. Trying to comfort a loved one who has lost someone he admired and loved, and was close to is soooo not easy. I am so confused as to what it is I am supposed to do. All I really know for sure is that I love him and I hate him being sad or upset. I offer my comfort, and I offer to do things to help ease his pain or worry about the daily things, but that is all I can really do. This funeral made me think of fathers and sons and how, in the past, men would tell their sons that crying is not what men do. And how men crying is seen as a weakness. Either because their fathers told them it was or because they personally feel week because of emotions.

This leads me to inform the male population who already have sons or will have sons in the future. Crying is not a weakness, it is a release of emotion, and emotion is not a weakness either, it show that you are human, that you are capable of having feelings of love, happiness, sadness, and pain. This goes for those mothers out there who say “big girls don’t cry” because let me tell you, THEY DO! And there is nothing wrong with it. There are different reasons to cry; being happy, being sad, being in pain, and feeling love. Having emotions makes us human and I gotta say, being human is completely amazing!

The services were an all day event and were very draining and exhausting. When we got home, we spent the rest of the evening with some awesome friends who helped us relax and played some drinking games. It was good stuff. I even asked Timmy if he told his boys that they should not cry, and he was the one who pointed out that crying is a release and that informed his sons of this, and that he wants his sons to understand that crying does not make you less of a man. Good guy, that Timmy is ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday was spend doing some grocery shopping for dinner stuffs, going to a birthday party for a friends kid, watching the Greenbay Packers kick ass (though I didn’t really pay all that much attention), and then cooking dinner.

Dinner was the recipe I posted the other day forย funeral-potatoes, shake and bake pork chops, and T.J. made sweet potato fries (which, surprisingly, I LOVED! I say surprisingly because I was not a fan last time I tried them). This dinner was absolutely spectacular! Thanks honey ๐Ÿ™‚ Awesome fries love!

The evening consisted of watching the nightly show, which included the season finally of True Blood which was totally awesome, and Entourage. I love True Blood, and even though I haven’t seen all the episodes of Entourage, I do enjoy it. I also began working on my personal assignment for my first week of my CJ class which is about research methods in criminal justice. This class also includes some math statistics, which consist mostly of word problems, which as you know from my math post last year, I HATE! I am SO not looking forward to this class. I am good with discussing research processes in criminal justice, just not looking forward to math quiz’s and all that crap!

4 thoughts on “What a Weekend!

  1. hillasnow says:

    I love that picture of TJ and Dad holding my Izzi’s hands… it was a beautiful service. I am so glad that TJ has you right now.

  2. TJ says:

    Thanks baby. Your dinner was awesome, thank you for being there for me and not getting upset when i vegged out to watch the game.
    Love you,
    T.J.

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

Archives

Badges