Funeral Potatoes

5

September 7, 2010 by The Perfectly Imperfect One


Here is the recipe for funeral potatoes. My aunt makes the best kind and I have yet to make this recipe, but when I do, I will share my experience with you. T.J. has asked me about the recipe and asked me to make it, which I will, probably this week or weekend sometime.

Funeral Potatoes

Funeral Potatoes

Ingredients

32 oz bag of raw shredded potatoes (hash browns) OR 6 cups diced potatoes (you can buy the already cut ones, or cook up a few potatoes and then dice them up, most recipes use the raw shredded hash browns).

2 cans cream of chicken soup (you can use mushroom if you want it vegetarian)

2 cups shredded cheese (more if you like)

1 pint sour cream

1 small bunch of green onions finely chopped (which I will not be using)

Some butter

2 tbs Corn Flakes

Directions

Preheat over to 350 degrees

Mix all ingredients together in mixing bowl (except corn flakes)

Dump mixture into 9 x 13 inch pan (glass preferably)

Bake for 30-45 minutes

Most recipes include finely crushed corn flakes to which you will pour over the top of the dish. You crush the corn flakes and mix them with about 2 tbs butter before pouring over the top.

If you use cornflake mixture, pour them on the top the last 15 minutes of baking (total bake time 45 minutes). If you choose not to use corn flakes, only bake 30 minutes.

5 thoughts on “Funeral Potatoes

  1. TJ says:

    Nom Nom Nom… These are awesome. Cant wait to eat em’.

  2. […] was the recipe I posted the other day for funeral-potatoes, shake and bake pork chops, and T.J. made sweet potato fries (which, surprisingly, I LOVED! I say […]

  3. Why “Funeral” Potatoes? This might be obvious but if it is I don’t get it haha.

    http://ishotthepilot.wordpress.com

    • The Perfectly Imperfect One says:

      It is obvious lol. I live in Utah, home of the Mormons, and after a funeral the church has a luncheon in which they serve funeral potatoes. They are amazing!

Thoughts, Feelings, Antics...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 400 other followers

Archives

Badges